Antimicrobial Resistance in Intensive Care


Research Network: 2019-01-01 - 2021-05-31
Total sum awarded: €50 000

The AMRIC (Antimicrobial Resistance in Intensive Care) network will use the InFACT infrastructure and collaboration network to spearhead a global acute care initiative for research on antimicrobial resistance. InFACT was established by independent investigator-led clinical research groups and academic research consortia to provide a mechanism to build international collaboration, address common needs, and to raise the profile of investigator-driven acute care research with researchers, policymakers, funders and the public. InFACT currently consists of 35 member networks representing every continent and income grouping on the planet and sharing the common goal to advance science and build research capacity. InFACT member networks are the leading research networks in critical care, with embedded mentoring and knowledge exchange activities. AMRIC, using the InFACT model and its pre-existing collaborations, will scale-up a plan for data sharing on the sources, burden, modifiable risk factors, and impact of antimicrobial resistance in acute care settings around the world. Through a recently funded and established mapping platform (ACCESS-MAPS, co-investigator Wallace) and a large team of motivated investigators, AMRIC will implement a plan for clinical and microbiologic data sharing for determining the scale of the AMR problem in acute care settings globally. The AMRIC network has recently conducted scoping reviews on the subject through prior JPIAMR support; this proposal will allow further planning for the implementation of the findings and coordinating the scaling-up of prospective data collection.

Read More
Read Less
  • Srinivas Murthy, University of British Columbia, Canada (Coordinator)
  • Diptesh Aryal, Nepal Mediciti Hospital, Nepal (Observer)
  • Michael Bauer, Center for Sepsis Control & Care, Germany (Observer)
  • Jonathan Sevransky, Emory University, USA (Observer)
  • Jean-Daniel Chiche, Université Paris Descartes, France (Observer)
  • Charles Gomersall, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong (Observer)
  • Halima Salisu Kabara, Aminu Kani Teaching Hospital, Nigeria (Observer)
  • Jeffrey Lipman, University of Queensland, Australia (Observer)
  • Miguel Sánchez García, Hospital Clínico San Carlos, Spain (Observer)
  • Jorge Sinclair, Comite Ejecutivo en Hospital Punta Pacifica, Panama (Observer)
  • Sebastian Ugarge Ubiergo, Sociedad Childena Medicine Critica Y Urgenias, Chile (Observer)
  • Giselle Sutton, Sanatorio San Jose, Argentina (Observer)
  • David Wallace, University of Pittsburgh, USA (Observer)
  • John Marshall, University of Toronto, Canada (Observer)
  • Ignacio Martin-Loeches, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland (Observer)
  • Bin Du, Peking Union Medical College Hospital, China (Observer)
  • Bharath Kumar Tirupakuzhi Vijayaraghavan, Apollo Hospitals, India (Observer)
  • Yaseen Arabi, King Saud Bin Abdulaziz University, Saudi Arabia (Observer)
  • Juan Scribante, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa (Observer)
  • Madiha Hashmi, Aga Khan University, Pakistan (Observer)
  • Anthony Gordon, Imperial College London, United Kingdom (Observer)
  • Ville Pettila, Helsinki University Hospital, Finland (Observer)