New JPIAMR leadership and Steering Committee elected

Mar 25th, 2020

JPIAMR is pleased to welcome the new Steering Committee and new Chair Jan-Ingvar Jönsson elected at the JPIAMR Management Board meeting held online on the 17th of March.

JPIAMR is pleased to welcome the new Steering Committee, new Vice Chair Marie-Paule Kieny  and new Chair Jan-Ingvar Jönsson (picture) elected at the JPIAMR Management Board meeting held online on the 17th of March.

Jan-Ingvar Jönsson, Chair, Sweden
Jan-Ingvar Jönsson is Professor at Linköping University, Sweden, and since 2016 also Secretary General for Medicine and Health at the Swedish Research Council where he holds several commissions. In 2017 he was appointed to lead the newly established National research programme in antibiotic resistance in Sweden. He has been Vice Chair of JPIAMR since 2016 and Acting Chair since 2018.

–  I would like to express my sincere gratitude to the members of JPIAMR to the trust to serve as chair for the coming two years. We are entering an exciting time with the development of the AMR One Health Partnership which needs lots of attention from the member states, but there are also other challenges such as what activities and operations we can manage during the transition phase into the partnership. I feel confident that we will succeed and that JPIAMR continues to be an important player in the field of AMR research, says Jan-Ingvar Jönsson.

Marie-Paule Kieny, Vice Chair, France
Marie-Paule Kieny is Director of Research at Inserm in Paris, in charge of the Priority Research Program on Antibiotic Resistance initiated by France in 2019 as part of the Investment Program for the Future (Programme d’Investissements d’Avenir).

It is an honour to have been elected as vice-chair of JPIAMR. Our partnership has grown as a major player for research on AMR in Europe and the world.  I commit to assist our Chair, Dr Jan-Ingvar Jönson, in steering the Management Board through a future transition of JPIAMR to an AMR-One Health Partnership under Horizon Europe, says Marie-Paule Kieny.

JPIAMR Steering Committee 2020-2022

Richard Gordon, South Africa
Richard Gordon is the Executive Director of the Grants, Innovation and Product Development groups at the South African Medical Research Council (SAMRC).

Charu Kaushic, Canada
Charu Kaushic is the Scientific Director of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)-Institute of Infection and Immunity, serving in this role since July 1, 2018. Dr. Kaushic is also a tenured Full Professor in the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine in McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada.

Joachim Klein, Germany
Joachim Klein has worked for the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) since 2008 and currently serves as Deputy Head of Division “Global Health Research” where he is responsible for several BMBF funding programs.

Jonathan Pearce, UK
Jonathan Pearce joined the Medical Research Council in 2008 and is now Associate Director for Biological Medicine, and in his time at MRC has had responsibility for Infections and Immunity.

For full bios please see the JPIAMR Steering Committee webpage.